McLaren Bay Region Receives 2019 Governor's Award of Excellence

McLaren Bay Region has been awarded with MPRO’s 2019 Governor’s Award of Excellence for Excellence in Effective Reporting and Measurement. The award recognizes improvement in nursing communication, a reduction in central-line blood stream infections and a reduction in surgical site infections for abdominal hysterectomies.

This year, more than 130 Michigan hospitals, physician practices, nursing homes, inpatient psychiatric facilities, ambulatory surgery centers and home health agencies were honored with the Governor’s Award of Excellence. This award recognizes participants for their dedication and success in improving healthcare quality and patient safety in Michigan. To be eligible for the award, participants must have achieved, maintained and continually improved in specific and rigorous milestones related to the award they received.

“We are fortunate to be able to partner with McLaren Bay Region and all the other dedicated organizations across the state of Michigan,” said MPRO President and CEO Leland Babitch, MD, MBA. “To be able to recognize these outstanding accomplishments with the Governor’s office highlights the importance of improving healthcare quality in our state.”

The Governor’s Award of Excellence was first developed in 2003. The current award is based upon work from 2017-2018 in the following areas:
•     Improving heart health
•     Increasing adult immunizations
•     Lowering the risk of infection in hospitals
•     Effective reporting and measurement
•     Improving care in nursing homes
•     Increasing identification of behavioral health conditions
•     Improving diabetes management
The McLaren Bay Region team is dedicated to improving patient safety," said Sandy Garzell, McLaren Bay Region Director of Quality Improvement and Organizational Excellence. "We are proud to be recognized for the hard work our team has put in to make these improvements."

Award recipients were honored May 8, 2019 at Eagle Eye Golf Course in Bath Township, MI. For more information about the Governor’s Award of Excellence, including a list of winners, visit